Mighty One Release Bittersweet Debut Single “Wake The Dead”

Blending '90s inspired guitars and electronics

Indie duo Mighty One are proud to reveal their debut single “Wake The Dead”, streaming now on all major platforms.

Mighty One are songwriting duo Emma Kingston and Mark Stidson. Since their formation in 2020 the band have created a sound that’s truly their own, blending ’90s inspired guitars and electronics, ambient soundscapes and emotive vocals earning them comparisons to Yeah Yeah Yeahs, The National and Phoebe Bridgers. The band have individually played alongside the likes of Johnny Marr, Bright Eyes and Alberta Cross and have recently supported both Tom Meighan and The Chesterfields at the prestigious Cheese and Grain in Frome.

Their new single “Wake The Dead,” was co-produced by the band and Mercury Prize winning producer Rob Ellis (PJ Harvey, Placebo, Torres) between their home studios and Bert Jansch Studio in Frome, engineered by Dom Monk (Big Thief, Laura Marling, Nick Cave), mixed by TJ Allen (Portishead, Anna Calvi, Bat For Lashes) and mastered by Guy Davie (Björk, Circa Waves, Foals).

Reflecting on the single, Mighty One state: “Wake The Dead centers itself around the notions of regret, and all of the emotions that come with it. Sharon Van Etten meets The National, it’s a bittersweet yet uplifting anthem.” 

What do you think of their debut single “Wake The Dead”?

Damaged City Festival 2019 | Photos | LIVING LIFE FEARLESS

CULTURE (counter, pop, and otherwise) and the people who shape it.

Damaged City Festival 2019 | Photos | LIVING LIFE FEARLESS

My Cart Close (×)

Your cart is empty
Browse Shop


Don't miss out on weekly new content and exclusive deals