Reissue of Marvin Gaye’s Classic Album ‘Let’s Get It On’ to Include Unreleased Songs

The release date is set for August 25, 2023

As a number of sources report, Marvin Gaye’s classic 1973 album, Let’s Get It On, will be reissued on digital platforms on August 25 for its 50th anniversary.

It will be an expanded edition that will include 33 bonus tracks, 18 unreleased, including the 1973 sessions for an album of ballads that was eventually scrapped, and then rerecorded later in the decade. It was later released (1997) as Vulnerable.

The reissue also features the mostly instrumental David Van DePitte Sessions, several tracks of which are unreleased.

The Grammy Museum is hosting a Let’s Get It On 50th anniversary event on August 23 with Smokey Robinson, Jimmy Jam, and David Ritz, author of the great biography Divided Soul.

Let’s Get It On: Deluxe Edition Tracklist:

Original Album
01. Let’s Get It On
02. Please Stay (Once You Go Away)
03. If I Should Die Tonight
04. Keep Gettin’ It On
05. Come Get to This
06. Distant Lover
07. You Sure Love to Ball
08. Just To Keep You Satisfied

Single Edits
9. Let’s Get It On (single version) *
10. You Sure Love to Ball (single version) *
11. If I Should Die Tonight (original LP edit) *

Album Bonus Tracks
12. Let’s Get It On – demo **
13. Let’s Get It On – Pt. II (a.k.a. Keep Gettin’ It On) **
14. I Knew One Day My Day Would Come (instrumental)
15. Interlude #1
16. Please Stay (Once You Go Away) – alternate mix 1 **
17. Lovely Lady (instrumental)
18. If I Should Die Tonight – demo **
19. I Don’t Have to Get High to Do It (instrumental)
20. Come Get to This – alternate mix 1 **
21. Distant Lover – alternate mix 1 **
22. You Sure Love to Ball – alternate mix 1 w/alternate vocal **
23. Just to Keep You Satisfied – alternate mix w/alternate vocal **
24. Interlude #2
25. If I Should Die Tonight – SaLaAM ReMi’s Piano Mix
26. Just to Keep You Satisfied – John Morales’s Stripped Mix

The David Van DePitte Sessions
27. Song #1 (instrumental)
28. Song #2 (instrumental)
29. Song #3 (instrumental) **
30. Song #4 (partial vocal)
31. Shake Well (instrumental)
32. Perfection (instrumental)
33. Cakes (instrumental) **
34. My Love Is Growing (Super Polished) **

Vulnerable: The 1973 vocals
35. She Needs Me
36. Why Did I Choose You
37. Funny, Not Much
38. This Will Make You Laugh
39. The Shadow of Your Smile
40. I Wish I Didn’t Love You So
41. I Won’t Cry Anymore

* = Previously released
** = Previously released bonus songs with fresh mixes

Damaged City Festival 2019 | Photos | LIVING LIFE FEARLESS

CULTURE (counter, pop, and otherwise) and the people who shape it.

Damaged City Festival 2019 | Photos | LIVING LIFE FEARLESS

My Cart Close (×)

Your cart is empty
Browse Shop


Don't miss out on weekly new content and exclusive deals