Alt-Rock Favorites, Neutral Milk Hotel,  Coming Up With a Vinyl Box Set

It will include unreleased material and live songs

As Pitchfork and other sources report, alt-rock favorites Neutral Milk Hotel have announced a career-spanning vinyl box set. The Collected Works of Neutral Milk Hotel includes both of the group’s LPs — 1996’s On Avery Island and 1998’s In the Aeroplane Over the Sea — as well as live recordings, alternate takes, unreleased material, and more. The collection arrives February 24, 2023, via Merge label.

In 2011, the band’s mastermind Jeff Mangum collected nearly all of the band’s recorded output in a limited-edition box set, which he self-released via Neutral Milk Hotel Records (a small operation run by Mangum and his mother). The Merge edition marks the collection’s first digital release and includes an expanded 2xLP edition of On Avery Island, an exclusive 12″ picture disc of Live at Jittery Joe’s (recorded in 1997), the “Holland, 1945” b/w “Engine” 7″ on black vinyl with brand new artwork, and more.

The set also features a remastered version of the 1994 Everything Is 7″, which has been pressed to 10″ vinyl as an extended EP. Mangum has also added a few songs from that period: “Unborn,” “You’ve Passed,” and “Where You’ll Find Me Now.” The Ferris Wheel on Fire 10″ EP includes the addition of “My Dream Girl Don’t Exist.”

Damaged City Festival 2019 | Photos | LIVING LIFE FEARLESS

CULTURE (counter, pop, and otherwise) and the people who shape it.

Damaged City Festival 2019 | Photos | LIVING LIFE FEARLESS

My Cart Close (×)

Your cart is empty
Browse Shop


Don't miss out on weekly new content and exclusive deals