Unreleased Prince Album From 1986 To See The Light Of Day

‘Camille’ will be released by Third Man Records

Back in 1986, Prince took on a feminine alter ego called Camille and recorded an album that went into test pressing, but was then suddenly scrapped.

In an interview for the British music monthly Mojo, Third Man co-founder Ben Blackwell revealed that the label is going to make sure Camille finally sees the light of day.

“We’re finally going to put it out,” Blackwell said, adding that he’d also gotten the green light from the late singer’s estate: “Prince’s people agreed – almost too easy.”

All of the songs on the eight-track Camille have been released in some capacity, but never in the same package and have often been tough to find online.

A number of the tracks went on to feature on Sign O’ The Times, while the song “Rebirth Of The Flesh” only appeared in 2020 on a Super Deluxe Edition of that album.

According to New Musical Express (NME), the eight tracks to be featured on Camille – which looks set to be released under the alter-ego, not Prince – are:

  1. Rebirth Of The Flesh
  2. Housequake
  3. Strange Relationship
  4. Feel U Up
  5. Shockadelica
  6. Good Love
  7. If I Was Your Girlfriend
  8. Rockhard In A Funky Place

NME adds that last year, another ‘lost’ Prince album – Welcome 2 America – was finally released over a decade after it was finished. The album discusses race relations, political division, and social justice, with Prince saying of the album in 2010: “The world is fraught with misin4mation. George Orwell’s vision of the future is here. We need 2 remain steadfast in faith in the trying times ahead.”

Damaged City Festival 2019 | Photos | LIVING LIFE FEARLESS

CULTURE (counter, pop, and otherwise) and the people who shape it.

Damaged City Festival 2019 | Photos | LIVING LIFE FEARLESS

My Cart Close (×)

Your cart is empty
Browse Shop


Don't miss out on weekly new content and exclusive deals