First time release for one of Miles Davis’ last live performances

The set was recorded at a Vienne Jazz Festival in France (1991)

Miles Davis, possibly the greatest jazz trumpet player of all time, died in September 1991. Just a couple of months before his death, on July 1, 1991, Davis performed at the ‘Jazz à Vienne’ festival in France. 

The recording of this performance will reach the mass audience only for the first time. It will be titled, Merci Miles! Live at Vienne and arrives June 25 as part of Rhino’s Black Music Month celebration. It features a selection of the songs performed that night, including Davis and his group’s renditions of Prince’s “Penetration” and “Jailbait.”

According to Rhino, their Black Music Month celebration will also include offerings to celebrate the political, the genre-defining, and the unforgettable hits in its catalog. From Lil’ Kim’s mold-breaking second record, Notorious K.I.M. to Curtis Mayfield’s relevant-as-ever Roots and There’s No Place Like America Today, Sheila E.’s smash …In The Glamourous Life and George Benson’s genre-defining Breezin’, from the geniuses Aretha Franklin and Ray Charles to the effervescent Chaka Khan and the reverential Roberta Flack.

Here is the full track list of the Miles Davis album:

Merci Miles! Live at Vienne:

  1. Hannibal
  2. Human Nature
  3. Time After Time
  4. Penetration
  5. Wrinkle
  6. Amandla
  7. Jailbait
  8. Untitled Finale – the Miles Davis Group only
Damaged City Festival 2019 | Photos | LIVING LIFE FEARLESS

CULTURE (counter, pop, and otherwise) and the people who shape it.

Damaged City Festival 2019 | Photos | LIVING LIFE FEARLESS

My Cart Close (×)

Your cart is empty
Browse Shop


Don't miss out on weekly new content and exclusive deals