Coming up - Two new benefit compilations with numerous indie musicians | News | LIVING LIFE FEARLESS

Coming up – Two new benefit compilations with numerous indie musicians

One is for the benefit of American Democracy, the other for the Carrizo/Comecrudo Tribe of Texas

Dave Eggers, writer and founder of McSweeney’s, along with Jordan Kurland, Darius Zelkha, Christian Stavros, and Barsuk Records label head Josh Rosenfeld are one more time coming up with the Bandcamp-exclusive compilation under the title Good Music To Avert The Collapse Of American Democracy. This is actually Volume 2 in the series, and as was the case with Volume One, it will be available only for 24 hours on Bandcamp, HERE. The release date is October 2, 2020. All the proceeds will go to Voting Rights Lab, “a nonpartisan organization that brings state advocacy, policy, and legislative expertise to the fight for voting rights.”

The 77-song compilation features “never-before-heard new songs, covers, remixes, live versions, and unreleased demos” by The Postal Service, John Prine (ft. Margo Price & others) (also a song by Margo Price solo), Arcade Fire & David Byrne (also a demo by David Byrne solo), The Decemberists’ Colin Meloy (Echo & the Bunnymen cover), Pearl Jam, Feist (Nina Simone cover), Yola (also a Nina Simone cover), Yeah Yeah Yeahs (Atlas Sound cover), Phoenix (Whitney cover), Sturgill Simpson, The Gossip, Little Dragon, Bright Eyes, Perfume Genius, Jason Isbell & the 400 Unit (Elvin Bishop cover, live), Fleet Foxes, Big Boi & Sleepy Brown (ft. Killer Mike & Big Rube), Jenny Lewis, The War On Drugs, Yoko Ono Plastic Ono Band (Deakin of Animal Collective remix), Nilüfer Yanya, Tenacious D, Guided by Voices, Courtney Marie Andrews + Liz Cooper + Molly Sarlé (Simon & Garfunkel cover), NNAMDÏ (ft. Lala Lala), PUP, Bob Mould, Andrew Bird, Caleb Giles, Aimee Mann, My Morning Jacket, Old 97’s (Cheap Trick cover), Wolf Parade, TV on the Radio’s Tunde Adebimpe (covering Pink Floyd), Nada Surf, Illuminati Hotties, Bedouine (Bill Withers cover), Faye Webster (Blake Mills cover), and still much more.

As Pitchfork reported, To the People of the Land: Carrizo/Comecrudo Solidarity Compilation is a new benefit compilation to raise funds for the Estok’Gna (aka the Carrizo/Comecrudo Tribe of Texas). The 31-track compilation, curated by Jordan Moser and Keeled Scales, includes contributions from Big Thief, Sharon Van Etten, Black Belt Eagle Scout, Aisha Burns, Tenci, Christelle Bofale, Molly Burch, and many more.

Damaged City Festival 2019 | Photos | LIVING LIFE FEARLESS

CULTURE (counter, pop, and otherwise) and the people who shape it.

Damaged City Festival 2019 | Photos | LIVING LIFE FEARLESS

My Cart Close (×)

Your cart is empty
Browse Shop


Don't miss out on weekly new content and exclusive deals